The signing ceremony

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons was adopted at the United Nations on 7 July 2017.

It will be open for signature on 20 September 2017, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York.

This will be a historic moment, where heads of states and foreign ministers will gather in New York to officially sign this groundbreaking treaty.

ICAN will be working to ensure that as many governments as possible will sign the Treaty on the opening day, and will then work for the 50 ratifications needed for its entry into force.

Here’s what you can do to make your governments sign it:

  • Keep updated on the preparations for the signing ceremony by following ICAN’s live blog.
  • Send an email to your government to tell it to sign the treaty on 20 September.
  • Support our work to get as many governments as possible to sign by donating to ICAN.